Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (76)

King Arthur review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 14 March 2010 06:34 (A review of King Arthur)

Historians agree that the classical 15th century tale of King Arthur and his Knights rose from a real hero who lived a thousand years earlier in a period often called the Dark Ages. Recently discovered archeological evidence sheds light on his true identity.

It's always refreshing to see a new telling of an already much-used storyline, and King Arthur does exactly that. Gone are the flashy armour and glorious castles; this take of the Arthurian legend links it to that of a British-Roman soldier who leads a group of Sarmatian knights. Arthur, or Artorius (Owen) is tired of fighting and wishes to take his comrades back to their home. All he wants to do is settle down in Rome and forget the bloody years, and his chance comes when a close friend of his father, Bishop Germanius (Marescotti) arrives to give them their desired passes. However, before they can have the passes which can take them past the Roman empire and into their homeland, they have to finish one last task: to shuttle the Pope's favorite godson, Alecto (de Angelis), back to Rome. Left with no choice, Arthur and his loyal knights, Lancelot (Gruffudd), Bors (Winstone), Galahad (Dancy), Tristan (Mikkelsen), Dagonet (Stevenson), and Gawain (Edgerton) race against time to save Alecto and his family from falling prey to the ruthless Saxon army, led by Cerdic (Skarsgard). While there, they meet Guinevere, a beautiful Briton, who has been imprisoned and tortured in a secret chamber by Alecto's father, Marius (Stott). The entire film was a historical enjoyment, and I loved every second of the film. Winstone provides most of the comic relief, but he can even show grief over the death of his closest friend, Dagonet. Knightley held her own among a group of men, and she came across as masculine and feminine at the same time. Love love love this film, and the best part about this would have to be that they were able to relate this to a historical fact.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 14 March 2010 06:12 (A review of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

"I can guarantee the closest shave you'll ever know. "

Whenever I see a film directed by Tim Burton, I know that it involves either about a dark, or unusual visual design, and usually stars Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Well, I wasn't wrong with this film. The only difference was that this was a musical, thus testing the acting prowess and flexibility of the actors involved in the film. And they did not disappoint. In a delightfully dark and gothic telling of the Broadway play, Burton shows us the journey of Sweeney Todd/Benjamin Barker (Depp), as he loses his wife (Kelly) and his daughter, Joanna (Wisener) after the lusty Judge Turpin (Rickman) rapes Todd's wife (she poisons herself afterwards) and takes Joanna as his ward. Todd is sent to Australia where he is forced to do hard labour. When he returns, he learns that Turpin has developed lustful feelings for Joanna, and he plans to exact his revenge. Along with his former neighbor, Mrs. Lovett (Bonham Carter), who runs a failing pie shop, he turns his attentions to avenging the death and abduction of his wife and daughter. Although bloody, the movie promises a lot of funny moments, especially concerning Bonham Carter, who seems to have hidden a singing talent through the years. There is never a dull moment in the film, and the Burton-Depp team up seems to have become a surefire way to enjoy a film, no matter how dark or bloody it may become.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Phantom of the Opera review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 14 March 2010 06:10 (A review of The Phantom of the Opera)

"Keep your hands at the level of your eyes!"

But don't you dare cover them, because this film is a lovely take of Gaston Leroux's novel. I remember reading a huge paperback book with beautiful illustrations, and I loved the concept of a deformed musical genius who has been shunned by the world because of his deformity. When the film adaptation rolled around, I immediately jumped at the chance to see it in theatres, and I wasn't disappointed. Everything, from the musical score to the costumes to the acting was flawless, but I marveled at the way Gerard Butler sung and acted his way as the Phantom. One could see the sorrow in his eyes, the rage and jealousy in his voice, and the secret yearning for the girl who he knows will never be his. Wonderful songs. A breathtaking romance story (although Christine Daae made a HUGE mistake by choosing Raoul over the Phantom, seriously). Gerard Butler definitely hammed it up as the Phantom, and he infused his portrayal of the tortured soul in a mask to the hilt. Emmy Rossum's unique voice made her stand out among the other actresses who played Christine over the years, save for Sarah Brightman, of course. And Patrick Wilson, well, he gave his own style as Raoul. That's all I can say. But they did a good job, honestly. But what I enjoyed the most was the performance of Minnie Driver as Carlotta. A definite diva; couldn't help but long to tape her mouth shut. The film may be nearly two and a half hours long, but you won't even notice the time, because the movie just sweeps you along and makes you feel as if you're watching the events unfold. A definite must-see for everyone.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Shoot 'Em Up review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 13 March 2010 04:16 (A review of Shoot 'Em Up)

"Eat your vegetables.

Is it possible for someone to love a film which borders on violence and gunfights? Yes, it is, since I absobloodylutely love this film to death. I normally wouldn't watch films which are about guns and blood, but the way this film was executed was simply brilliant, witty, and unique that I couldn't help but get hooked, lined, and sunk. The villain alone is unusual (imagine a geeky bloke doing all the shit in a film?), and Paul Giamatti is the perfect actor to fill in the shoes of sleazy Hertz. The protagonist is an extremely talented marksman who has a thing for carrots and is constantly harping on about the immorality present in society. Smith (Owen) has a mysterious past, which is highlighted by his even more mysterious entry into the film - all we know about him is that he shoots well and used to have a family - wherein he gets involved in a conspiracy just by sitting on a bench and munching on a carrot. But after he saves a pregnant woman going into labor, he is thrown into a series of events which involves him having to take care of the woman's baby, deal with persistent thugs and their leader, Hertz, and stop himself from falling head over heels with Donna (Bellucci), probably the only person he doesn't hate in the world. The gunfights and Smith's prowess with guns in fantastic and enjoyable to watch, because this is probably the one man who doesn't waste bullets. This film is a rich roster of witty one-liners and quotable quotes; you'll probably find one for every occasion possible. I just watched this movie during New Year's Eve (hate the sound of blasting fireworks), so I decided to fight fire with fire. I was soooooo glad I did, because this movie smashes all the other action movies that I've seen so far. I especially love the fight scene in the Hammerson warehouse (if you've watched this, you'll know what I'm going on about). The sheer gun creativity that was shown in the movie is mind-blowing. Oh, and the action sequences were great. Clive Owen, as always, delivered a moody character (but oh so hot ;-P), while Paul Giamatti certainly proved that he can be a badass if he wants to be. A definite must-see for everyone, not just for the blokes, but for the ladies as well.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Face/Off review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 13 March 2010 04:05 (A review of Face/Off)

"Oh God, this is excellent. Bravo. Bra-fucking-vo."

Face/Off is a fantastic film helmed by Asian director John Woo. It features the versatility and talent of two actors, John Travolta and Nicolas Cage, as they portray two characters: Sean Archer and Castor Troy. It was a thrill to see them switch from one character to another, and they did it with such ease that they really made the identity switch believable. It was also a thrill to see Thomas Jane, Beethoven alum Danny Masterson, and Lolita star (she was in this film after starring in Kubrick's famous and controversial film the previous year) Dominique Swain in the film. Sean Archer's son was killed many years ago by terrorist Castor Troy, and Archer has never stopped hunting Troy and his younger brother, Pollux (Nivola). During a stakeout at the airport, Archer finally gets his chance to nail Troy, and with Troy in a coma and his younger brother in jail, Archer readies himself to settle back into a normal life and repair the damage his son's death caused on him and his family, from his wife, Eve (Allen), and daughter, Jamie (Swain). However, he learns that the Troy brothers have planted a bomb somewhere in L.A., and with Castor out of commission, the only person who knows the location of the bomb is Pollux. The only way for Pollux to open up is by talking to his brother. So on a wild scheme, Sean becomes the man he hates most in the world, taking on Castor's face and identity, and is shipped off to the same jail where Pollux is. Unfortunately, Castor wakes up from his coma, assumes Archer's identity, and sets the entire movie in motion. I watched this movie again and I simply loved it. Okay, so maybe I'm older and more attuned to the things needed to make a good movie, and THIS certainly carried all of the things needed for a good gunfest. But it did more than that; it showcased the talents of Travolta and Cage, as they were both tasked to play a really cunning and out-of-this world terrorist, Castor Troy.

Favorite Scenes in the Film:
1. Castor Troy's arrival in the airport



- Must have been the way Troy's coat flew with the breeze as he stepped out of the car, but dayyyum, that was probably the best entrance by a villain I've seen. Classy, with more than a hint of devilishness.

2. The entire gunfight in Dietrich's house



- From start to finish, I enjoyed every millisecond of it. Nothing was done
over the top. A constant thrill ride.

3. The fight after Victor Lazarro's funeral rites.



- Again, not done over the top, and you could see Cage and Travolta living up to their parts as Archer and Troy, respectively.

4. The revelation of Castor Troy's son, Adam



- The way Sasha (Gershon) said it was so natural, but it definitely had an impact.
"Troy": These are nice clothes.
Sasha: Of course, they're yours.
"Troy": Yeah, um, that's why I like them. *looks at Adam* He's a nice looking kid too.
Sasha: Of course. He's yours too.

No matter how many times I saw this film, I haven't gotten tired of it. In my case, this movie wasn't a rip/off.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Resident Evil: Extinction review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 13 March 2010 12:54 (A review of Resident Evil: Extinction)

We fought the infection. We survived the apocalypse. And now, we face extinction.

Clearly one of my favorite films. After serious deliberation (and incessant viewing), I have decided that the third RE installment is my favorite. The first film explained how the infection started, while the second brought on the spread of the T Virus to the surface. The third has an even wider scope, and despite having the film center on only one location - although admittedly, at the first few scenes of the film, the camera shifted to the locations of Alice and Claire's convoy - Mulcahy was able to depict the devastating effects of the T Virus on the world. Alice (Jovovich) has escaped the Umbrella Corporation and has evaded its satellites for years. On her way through a world now teeming with flesh eating zombies, she discovers that her powers are fast evolving. Switch to a convoy of cars, we are introduced to Claire Redfield (Larter), and are reunited with two familiar faces from the second film, Carlos Olivera (Fehr) and LJ (Epps). It is during an attack by zombified crows do these two groups meet, when Alice saves Olivera from being pecked to death by the birds. They now have to look for a safe place to live (Alice has discovered a notebook which shows that Alaska is apparently infection-free). However, the Umbrella Corporation, led by the vicious Dr. Isaacs (Glen), is hell bent on retrieving Alice in order to obtain from her blood a cure for the T Virus. Far better than the first and second movies combined. The infection is now on a global scale, and almost everyone of those slimy buggers are dead. Oh, and there are some zombies running amok on Earth. I admittedly thought that the character of Alice was going to be eradicated during the first scene, but hey, I'm wrong sometimes. I just love love love the Las Vegas fight scene, with those zombies just biting and chewing and getting their brains blown out. Not exactly the type of movie someone would normally watch after Christmas, but I am not a normal person when it comes to movies. And THIS isn't your normal zombies-getting-blown-and-people-getting-killed movie.

This movie is much more than that.


This movie is






EXTINCTION.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stay Alive review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 13 March 2010 11:47 (A review of Stay Alive)

"Sweet Sebastian Bach, I wanna play!"

And so does everyone else, apparently. I'm not a huge video game fanatic, but I'm not a total loser when it comes to those types of games either. :p My interest was piqued when I learned the story and plotline on IMDB, and decided to give this film a go. From the very beginning, I could feel chills running up my spine as I watched Loomis Crowley (cameo by Ventimiglia) enter a 3D plantation and get snuffed after a few seconds of gameplay. I loved the concept of having a video game do people in the same way they died in the game; the concept seemed scarier and more realistic than other horror movie plots -plus, it seemed more modern and befits today's times, where most teenagers spend their time blasting zombies and playing commando on their video game equipment. The story revolves around a group of teenagers who, after receiving the cursed video game Crowley was playing the night he died (of course, viewers know that it was the result of the video game which brought about Crowley's demise), become intrigued and decide to play it. After chanting the Prayer of Elizabeth, they are thrown into a world where the concepts of virtual and reality become blurred. After one of their number dies in the exact way he died in the game, they realize that they aren't the ones playing the game - quite the reverse. Now, it is up to them to stop the ruthless Blood Countess (Maria Kalinina) and find a way to stay alive. For those who think that the Blood Countess didn't exist, let me dash that notion and say that yes, there was a Blood Countess, and she was also called Elizabeth Bathory (rewind the film to the part where they discover a secret chamber and you will see the name plate on the portrait). I love it when films find ways to connect the events or characters to real life; I think it makes these films a wee bit more believable.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Constantine review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 10 March 2010 03:48 (A review of Constantine)

"This is Constantine. John Constantine. Asshole."

Another comic book to film adaptation. The best thing about this film? Keanu Reeves wasn't in dark sunglasses. :))) Keedin'. It would definitely have to be the kickass special effects. John Constantine (Reeves) is a "gifted" man who has been given the ability to distinguish demons from humans, and he has been using this power to exorcise half-breeds who violate the laws. After a nasty encounter with a demon who has possessed a young girl, he realizes that there is something sinister at work. In another part of the city, Detective Angela Dodson (Weisz) is coming to terms with the supposed suicide of her twin sister, Isabel (also played by Weisz). After seeing a surveillance video of her sister as she jumped off the roof of the mental institution she was staying in, she notices her sister mention the name "Constantine". Desperate to prove her sister's innocence and thus save her from a lifetime of torment in Hell, Angela visits Constantine and ends up being swept into a battle between good and evil, which includes the reincarnation of Satan's son into the world. Great story, but what really made this film work were the visual effects and special effects. I don't know if you actually stayed to watch until the very end of the credits, but an extra scene just hints of something a bit more... another Constantine movie, perhaps? Great film, you definitely won't go wrong with this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Valentine's Day review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 7 March 2010 03:24 (A review of Valentine's Day)

"There are only 36 seconds left until it'll be just another day. Now count with me, ladies and gentlemen, and let's say those three words we would all like to hear.

Let's get naked."


So, just saw this movie today (February 20, 2010) with three of my mates. I really didn't expect to enjoy this movie, since normally I'd go for the Greek mythology flick or the werewolf movie which were also showing in the theatre. But as the film progressed, I found myself laughing and enjoying myself, and I chastised myself for being so judgmental.
The film is basically about a set of people who, on the day of hearts, go through issues about their love lives (non-existent or otherwise). All the characters are connected to each other, and the good thing about it is that you don't get confused about the ties which bind these people together. The storyline is easy to follow, and the actors were all fun to watch. But it was Anne Hathaway's performance that really blew me to bits; everytime she came on screen and said her lines as a phone entertainer, I kept choking and doubling up in laughter. She was really, really good, and even the audience loved her. The ending was startlingly funny and sweet, there were certain revelations that might make you go "WTH?" The perfect movie to see if you're with your sweetie; both of you will certainly enjoy it. I know I did; and I don't even have a boyfriend! :DDDD


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel review

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 7 March 2010 03:24 (A review of Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel)

"Oh it is on like Donkey Kong."

Compared to the first, this one looked like a teen flick. I wouldn't say I was disappointed, because Theodore can have as many movies as he wants and I wouldn't give a darn. The usual storyline; Alvin thinks only of himself, lets his brothers down, Ian tries to steal the spotlight, but Alvin saves the day after a sudden rush of conscience. Still a great movie in terms of the entertainment factor, but if you'll ask me which movie I prefer, I'd go for the first one. This one is quite predictable; I mean, the chipmunks are famous and are suddenly thrust into high school and they have to deal with new chipmunks who can sing "Single Ladies" while wagging their tiny tails? Even you can guess what would happen: competition competition competition. It's like a chipmunk version of Mean Girls. Think about it! The Chipettes are fresh at being famous and they do all they can to bring down the popular group. It's the same with Cady Heron and the Plastics, except that THIS Cady has a heart and isn't as bitchy and whore-ish.
Whatever they say, I still think that it's Theodore who rules this group. :pppp


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block